Tags

, ,

I’ve been writing about the arts this whole semester–what cool things are happening, where to go see them happen. What if you’re someone who wants to make the cool things happen? Any aspiring musician knows that the place to get started is at an open mic night.

There are several places around the Tri-Cities that host weekly open mic nights. It’s something that’s been on my mind recently, something I might like to get into this summer. I’m not a musician, but I do have vague stand-up comedy dreams.

Even if you’re not a performer, open mic nights are a great way to witness up-and-coming local artists. Just think, if you go to enough, you might be able to say, “I knew them when.” Here’s a list of places where you can put yourself out there, or watch other people do it.

Mondays

  • Acoustic Coffeehouse (7:30 p.m.)
  • Rock’s Wood Fire Pizza & Grill (7 p.m.)

Tuesdays

  • Wolf Hills Brewing (6 p.m.)

Wednesdays

  • The Willow Tree Coffeehouse & Music Room (6 p.m.)
  • Jiggy Ray’s Pizzeria

Whether or not you perform or attend an open mic night, I challenge all of you to challenge yourselves artistically this summer. It can be in personal pursuits–I joined a writers’ group and am currently waist-deep in a prose project with another right behind it–or it can just be to get out there to see more cool things.

One thing that I’ve learned this semester is that the Tri-Cities have a lot more to offer than I originally thought. Let’s you and I take advantage of that.

